Rules of Procedure
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Rules of Procedure

PAR 014.jpgThe Metropolitan Development Commission (MDC) has been conferred as the planning authority over the Indianapolis-Marion County jurisdiction by I.C. 36-7-4. As such, the MDC has adopted Rules of Procedure as prescribed by the State Statute to implement its charge and conduct its business. The last amendment to the MDC's Rules of Procedure was on March 1, 2017.

The MDC has established a Plat Committee and also adopted Rules of Procedure regarding its operation. The last amendment to the Rules of Procedure for the Plat Committee of the Metropolitan Development Commission was on June 4, 2014 with an effective date of July 1, 2014 except the Filing Fee Schedule becomes effective January 1, 2011.

The Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) has been created and authorized under 36-7-4 for the jurisdiction throughout Marion County, Indiana -- except within the territorial limits of any excluded city (Speedway, Beech Grove, and Lawrence). The BZA has three Divisions, I, II, and III, as well as a Hearing Officer. The last amendment to the BZA's Rules of Procedure became effective on June 3, 2014 except the Filing Fee Schedule becomes effective January 1, 2011.

While the filing fees to file a land use petition are included as a part of each of the Rules of Procedure, a separate Filing Fee schedule is available here.  


Exhibit A - Statement of Covenants made in association with a Rezoning

Exhibit B - Statement of Commitment associated with a Rezoning or Approval

Exhibit C  - Statement of Modification or Termination of Covenants or Commitments

Exhibit D  - Statement of Commitments associated with a Variance or Special Exception

Exhibit E - Open Occupancy & Equal Employment Opportunity Commitment


Addressing Guidelines, adopted by the MDC 

User Manual for the